The Book is Always Better | The Shining | Book Review

IMG_20160205_132640

 

I bet all book lovers out there can agree with me when I say that the book is always better than the movie. Because of course it is. The lack of detail isn’t what bothers me. But the redundant changes in the original plot are what set my teeth on edge. I just have one question. WHY?

The Shining is the first ever novel by Stephan King that I got the chance to read. I watched the movie a while back and it, without a doubt, gave me a good scare. The novel on the other end, despite being only words, was much more terrifying.  Did I want to stick it inside the freezer at some point? (Reference from Friends) Yes I did!

Being a sucker for the horror genre, I had my doubts about whether a book could make me afraid of the dark. The Shining certainly did. It was exceptionally well written and the plot was perfectly paced. It neither ran too fast, like the movie. Nor was it slow or tedious. I absolutely loved how smoothly the story was told, making it easily believable. Stephan King provided the perfect amount of details and insight into the minds of the characters letting the readers know exactly what was happening. I look forward to reading more books by this brilliant author.

Leave a Reply

